About Us

The Ballarat Greyhound Racing Club Inc. was formed in 1935 and was originally located at “Broadway Park” in Creswick Road, Ballarat before the Club built a new racing complex over a 3 year period at Morshead Park, Ballarat. The first race meeting at the new track at Morshead Park was conducted on Saturday 23rd December 1978.

History shows that the first race on the new track was won by Eddy Torado which won from Box No. 1 and was trained by W.R. Dalton. On that program there was a special match race with prize money of $1,000 between Melbourne Cup winner Tangaloa and Sandown track record holder Darville’s Flyer, with Darville’s Flyer being the eventual winner.

The Club provides excellent public facilities where patrons can enjoy undercover comfort from the grandstand. Bar facilities, catering and off street car parking are also available. Camping and kenneling facilities are not available for traveling trainers and their greyhounds. Track facilities also include Tabcorp betting facilities, video replays of all races with all races being broadcast on and off course. The Club races each Monday, day meeting and Wednesday night with some additional meetings conducted throughout the year.