The Weekly Wrap – Western District Derby

Well wasn’t Wednesday nights racing an absolute cracker with the heats of the 2016 Western District Derby. Representation from top kennels like Collins, Britton, Bravo, Ennis, Dailly & the all mighty Thompson kennel ment it was going to be tough just to get a spot in the final.

6 Heats were conducted so the 6 winners plus the 2 fastest seconds made the field up and the next 2 fastest seconds made up the reserves.



Mondays Racing

Mondays meeting was an all Maiden meeting and there was defiantly some nice types that will go on and win plenty more races.

John Toye produced a nice one in Race 4, Pay the Boo who at her 3rd race start put it all together and went BANG! pinging the lids running 8.39 to the first peg and going on to run 22.16 over the 390mtrs.

Race 9 saw the well bred daughter of Fabregas X Coolan Miss in Nancy Botwin salute in fine style, lobbing 2nd the fence before pushing up to take the lead and never looking in and danger with a strong finish running 25.77. She’s certainly one to follow.


Pay The Boo flys the lids to get her first win


Wednesday Nights Racing

Right, time to review the heats and the Lil Dickie Oaks final.

The Lil Dickie was a rippa race, with speed drawn from Box 1, 5 and 7 it was going to be a tough race lead and win. Sailaway Jackie flew the boxes along with Lyka Allen and lead up the field with some argy bargy up the back heading into the first turn between . Lyka Allen had every possible chance to run down little Sailaway Jackie but just couldn’t get passed tough girl. Cngrats to David Geall and connections ion taking out the Oaks.

2016 Lil Dickie Oaks


The Derby heats review

Heat 1 was taken out by the ever consistent Earnest Bale, coming from off the speed, set by Wise Harvey, to salute in 25.08 getting home i 13.71 (HUGE!).

Heat 2 was taken out by Ballarat track specialist American Warrior, running a impressive 25.07

Heat 3 was a race that changed complexion at the top of the straight. Bide Time set a hot tempo running 6.44 and 11.15 before knocking up, Shades of sassy took over on the fence coming into the straight and looked the winner when Diego Bale jumped out of the ground to win in 25.03, breaking 13 seconds in the run home, running 12.96  #airbourne

Heat 4 Pantera Nera was the most impressive winner to my eye, doing it both ends. realling off super huge sectional in 6.44 and 11.18 and going on to win in 25.08

Heat 5 WOOOOOOWEEEEEE what a heat! Jason Thompson produced Invictus Rapid to win as he like and ruinning to within .02 of the track record in 24.78, coming home in a freakish 13.57! If he gets a clear run he’ll be hard to beat.

Heat 6 the final heat was the second of the Thompson trained greyhounds to get in. Jack Walker jumped from box 6 lobbing second outside the leader before taking over into the first bend and running away with it in 25.26.

The box draw has been done and the field is as follows

Box 1 – Snakebite Bale

Box 2 – Pantera Nera

Box 3 – Invictus Rapid

Box 4 – American Warrior

Box 5 – Diego Bale

Box 6 – Jack Walker

Box 7 – Shades of Sassy

Box 8 – Earnest Bale


9-Mepunga Joffa  10-Marvelous Marvin

The box draw has played nicely into the hands of Pantera Nera, if he pings like last week he’ll be hard to beat. Earnest Bale from Box 8 is well drawn and can be the one flying home and of course Invictus Rapid lobs behind Pantera Nera well he can finish in the money.


Pantera Nera the one to beat in the derby


Local Trainers

The locals had a ripper week with 12 winners!

The honours are shared between Darren Murray and Sheila Donlon with 2 winners each.

Darren had Monaleen Ned bolt in at Ballarat in 25.30 and Monaleen Mojo also at Ballarat in 25.65

Sheila Donlon had a double at with Bendigo Bojack kahn and Hardy Chief.

other winners were: Jive Time for Joe Borg at sandown, Stocktake for peachy at Ballarat, Cruisen Billy dead-heated also or Peachy at Ballarat, Baron lad for Tony Jeffrey at Ballarat, Baron Bob for Alf King at Ballarat, Silverdust for Rob Weightman at Horsham and Kalora Tess for Chrisy Stanton.


Greyhound of the year leader board

Position Greyhound First Second Third Total Points
2 HISAGI BALE 2 1 0 30
3 DESTINI BLAZE 2 1 0 24
4 BIDE TIME 2 0 0 24
5 JACK WALKER 2 0 0 24
6 LITTLE ARANDT 2 0 0 24
7 MACEY BLUE 2 0 0 24
8 SHIMATRON 2 0 0 24
9 ICONIC ROCK 1 2 0 24
10 NILA BALE 1 2 0 24

Related Posts